Skip to main content

Delete a VM

You can delete a VM (Virtual Machine) you no longer need. Deleting a VM releases the corresponding hardware resources. The VM therefore cannot be recovered. You can also specify that the VM is deleted when you stop it with the operating system command by enabling the InstanceInitiatedShutDownBehavior attribute.

warning

The "Delete" action is irreversible. If you confirm this action, the VM is permanently deleted, which causes the following consequences:

  • the resources attached to the VM are released;
  • the data stored in memory is erased;
  • if a public IP is attached, it is released but remains allocated to the account;
  • the behavior of block storage volumes depends on the block device mapping.

Permissions

info

This action requires the following IAM (Identity and Access Management) permissions:

  • compute.vm.delete
From the left-hand side menu, click Compute → VMs to open the list of VMs.
  1. From the left-hand side menu, click ComputeVM to access the list of VM.

  2. Select the VM you want to delete.

    info

    Multi-selection is available.

  3. Click the Delete button.

  4. Confirm your choice in the dialog box by entering the name of the VM.

Cette page vous a-t-elle été utile ?